Exhibition of Christophe Grimonpon

February 26 – March 10, 2013 | NEST Gallery, Geneva

Christophe Grimonpon is a young artist born in Normandy in 1976. It was during his travels, especially in London, that he discovered hyperrealism, which now represents the basis of his technique but by which he does not feel confined.

His favorite themes are shipyards, plane hangars, garages, cars and stationary planes, libraries, interiors of famous hotels and restaurants and more recently train stations and two-wheelers. No human representation, no silhouette. Yet nothing is anecdotal given how the fiction approaches reality. The magic happens thanks to the imaginary engine purring, the sound of wood creaking, the smell of old leather or engine oil and other dusty environments devoid of all human activity but still so alive in our eyes.

Christophe Grimonpon was appointed official painter of the air and space by the French Minister of Defence in July 2011, a sought-after title. There are many applicants, but few are appointed!

To see the 38 paintings presented during the exhibition, please click on the thumbnails below. For any further information either on the artist or on the paintings still available as of now, please contact directly Artgentharius Conseils Sàrl.

Exposition de Christophe Grimonpon

26 février – 10 mars 2013, NEST Gallery, Genève

Christophe Grimonpon est un jeune artiste peintre né en Normandie en 1976. C’est au détour de voyages, notamment à Londres, qu’il découvrit l’hyperréalisme, base de sa technique mais dont il ne se sent nullement emprisonné.

Ses thèmes de prédilection sont les chantiers navals, les hangars à « hélices », les garages, les voitures et les avions immobiles, les bibliothèques, les intérieurs d’hôtels et restaurants célèbres et plus récemment les gares et les deux-roues. Aucune représentation humaine, aucune silhouette et pourtant rien d’anecdotique tant la fiction s’approche de la réalité. Et la magie s’opère avec le ronronnement imaginaire des moteurs, le grincement du bois qui travaille, les odeurs de vieux cuir ou d’huile de vidange et autres ambiances poussiéreuses de ces endroits apparemment délaissés de toute activité humaine mais tellement vivants à nos yeux.

Rappelons enfin que Christophe Grimonpon a été nommé en juillet 2011 peintre officiel de l’air et de l’espace par le Ministre de la Défense français : distinction qui n’est pas à la portée de tous. Beaucoup de candidats et peu d’élus !

L'exposition-vente consistait en 38 tableaux qui sont reproduits ci-dessous. Cliquer sur les images pour agrandir les vues. Pour toute demande de renseignements sur l'artiste et/ou sur les œuvres encore disponibles, veuillez contacter directement Artgentharius Conseils Sàrl.